Back to Music

CityVisions: Concert Overture for Orchestra (2004)

CityVisions was premiered at Carnegie Hall in May 2004 by the New York Pops Orchestra and was the first annual Skitch Henderson commission in honor of the Orchestra’s 25th anniversary.

It is a 10-minute, one movement piece for full orchestra. Although the piece was perceived to be about New York City specifically at its premiere, it is meant to be a work that reflects the energy and atmosphere of any big city. The opening theme transmits the energy of a vibrant “downtown” while the middle of the piece evokes the feeling of a great city park, an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the urban environment. The 2nd major theme is a polytonal wistful waltz led by a flute trio which evokes lazy Fall days with drifting leaves. As twilight descends, a mournful, bluesy trumpet solo floats through the air. The next morning brings church bells from all sides of the park and the city comes back to its bustling life. The original theme is restated with a few twists and a triumphant affirmation of our great metropolitan centers.

For purchase or rental information visit the Contact page.


  • 3 Flutes (3rd doubles Piccolo)
  • 2 Oboes (2nd doubled English Horn)
  • 2 Bb Clarinets
  • 1 Bass Clarinet
  • 2 Bassoons (2nd doubles on Contrabassoon)
  • 4 French Horns
  • 4 Trumpets (5th trumpet an optional luxury - 5th Trumpet part is doubled by other instruments)
  • 3 Trombones
  • Tuba
  • NOTE: Trumpets 1 & 2 and Trombones 1 & 2 are placed in balcony for Antiphonal effect. Additional players are NOT required
  • Piano
  • Timpani
  • Percussion 1: Snare Drum, Vibraphone, Suspended Cymbal, Xylophone, Crotales, Tubular Bells
  • Percussion 2: 2 Plate Crash Cymbals, Cowbell (low pitched), Tambourine, Hi Hat, Suspended Cymbal, Cabazza, Snare Drum, Glockenspiel
  • Percussion 3: Concert Bass Drum, Timbales, Triangle, Suspended Cymbal, Bongos, Tubular Bells
  • Harp
  • Violin I
  • Violin II
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Bass